Welcome to Pandora FMS Community!

Find answers, ask questions, and connect with our community around the world.

  • WMI wizard monitoring

    Posted by Mandeep Deol on May 1, 2018 at 22:10

    Hi everyone,

    I am new user to PandoraFMS .I installed PandoraFMS version 7(# Pandora FMS, the Flexible Monitoring System.
    # Version 7.0NG.721
    # Licensed under GPL license v2,
    # (c) 2003-2017 Artica Soluciones Tecnologicas
    # http://www.pandorafms.com) on Cent OS 7.

    I am using its GUI wizard and I created an agent named Windows Server 2016 with IP add 10.10.10.103/24 and configuring it for WMI wizard.
    I want to monitor CPU usage and network stability of Windows Server 2016 through PandoraFMS.

    Windows Server 2016 is configured as Domain controller and I also created user on it a add in to performance monitor users group and enable it for remote access and WMI service.

    I am trying to create modules for this agent but do not find any options like CPU usage , disk space, network interface, domain replication.

    Is there any other way to configure WMI wizard to monitor Windows Server?

    Please help…..

    Unknown Member replied 6 years, 4 months ago 4 Members · 9 Replies
  • 9 Replies
  • montydelmonte

    Member
    June 12, 2018 at 20:55
    0 Karma points
    Community rank: tentacle-noob-1 Tentacle noob
    Like it
    Up
    0
    Down
    Drop it
    ::

    Hi,
    I’ve found it had to be a fairly manual process, so quickly abandoned the wizard.
    One thing you can do is insert into pandora_agent.conf (can’t remember how much is preconfigured)

    So – eg for CPU info……

    # CPU Load using WMI
    module_begin
    module_name CPU Load
    module_type generic_data
    module_wmiquery SELECT LoadPercentage FROM Win32_Processor
    module_wmicolumn LoadPercentage
    module_max 100
    module_min 0
    module_description User CPU Usage (%)
    module_min_warning 70
    module_max_warning 90
    module_min_critical 91
    module_max_critical 100
    module_unit %
    module_group System
    module_end

    I also monitor Nvidia GPUs for certain servers. It’s possible to just call other commands…eg temperature:

    module_begin
    module_name GPU 0 Temperature
    module_type generic_data
    module_exec “C:Program FilesNVIDIA CorporationNVSMInvidia-smi.exe” –id=0 –query-gpu=temperature.gpu –format=csv,noheader
    module_description Current On Board Temperature of GPU 1 in Centigrade (internal to server)
    module_group NvidiaGPU
    module_end

    Pandora also ships with utilities for monitoring things like Drive usage.
    It’s fairly straight forward to customise – eg, I took their initial code and modified it to look at the internal RAID set, then created the Pandora Module inside the config file…

    # Example plugin to retrieve drive usage
    module_plugin cscript.exe //B “%ProgramFiles%Pandora_Agentutildf_percent_used.vbs”

    Obviously, restart the service after each edit!
    Hope that helps?

  • james-v

    Member
    November 23, 2018 at 14:35
    0 Karma points
    Community rank: tentacle-noob-1 Tentacle noob
    Like it
    Up
    0
    Down
    Drop it
    ::

    Hi,
    I’ve found it had to be a fairly manual process, so quickly abandoned the wizard.
    One thing you can do is insert into pandora_agent.conf (can’t remember how much is preconfigured)

    So – eg for CPU info……

    # CPU Load using WMI
    module_begin
    module_name CPU Load
    module_type generic_data
    module_wmiquery SELECT LoadPercentage FROM Win32_Processor
    module_wmicolumn LoadPercentage
    module_max 100
    module_min 0
    module_description User CPU Usage (%)
    module_min_warning 70
    module_max_warning 90
    module_min_critical 91
    module_max_critical 100
    module_unit %
    module_group System
    module_end

    I also monitor Nvidia GPUs for certain servers. It’s possible to just call other commands…eg temperature:

    module_begin
    module_name GPU 0 Temperature
    module_type generic_data
    module_exec “C:Program FilesNVIDIA CorporationNVSMInvidia-smi.exe” –id=0 –query-gpu=temperature.gpu –format=csv,noheader
    module_description Current On Board Temperature of GPU 1 in Centigrade (internal to server)
    module_group NvidiaGPU
    module_end

    Pandora also ships with utilities for monitoring things like Drive usage.
    It’s fairly straight forward to customise – eg, I took their initial code and modified it to look at the internal RAID set, then created the Pandora Module inside the config file…

    # Example plugin to retrieve drive usage
    module_plugin cscript.exe //B “%ProgramFiles%Pandora_Agentutildf_percent_used.vbs”

    Obviously, restart the service after each edit!
    Hope that helps?

    Hi there,

    Are you monitoring your Windows agentless by just WMI?  Also, after you modify this in your “agent.conf”, where is it visible? I meant where can you find this in the console?

    Kind regards,
    James Villas

  • Like it
    Up
    0
    Down
    Drop it
    ::

    Unknown Member

    Moderator
    November 27, 2018 at 18:47

    Hi,
    I’ve found it had to be a fairly manual process, so quickly abandoned the wizard.
    One thing you can do is insert into pandora_agent.conf (can’t remember how much is preconfigured)

    So – eg for CPU info……

    # CPU Load using WMI
    module_begin
    module_name CPU Load
    module_type generic_data
    module_wmiquery SELECT LoadPercentage FROM Win32_Processor
    module_wmicolumn LoadPercentage
    module_max 100
    module_min 0
    module_description User CPU Usage (%)
    module_min_warning 70
    module_max_warning 90
    module_min_critical 91
    module_max_critical 100
    module_unit %
    module_group System
    module_end

    I also monitor Nvidia GPUs for certain servers. It’s possible to just call other commands…eg temperature:

    module_begin
    module_name GPU 0 Temperature
    module_type generic_data
    module_exec “C:Program FilesNVIDIA CorporationNVSMInvidia-smi.exe” –id=0 –query-gpu=temperature.gpu –format=csv,noheader
    module_description Current On Board Temperature of GPU 1 in Centigrade (internal to server)
    module_group NvidiaGPU
    module_end

    Pandora also ships with utilities for monitoring things like Drive usage.
    It’s fairly straight forward to customise – eg, I took their initial code and modified it to look at the internal RAID set, then created the Pandora Module inside the config file…

    # Example plugin to retrieve drive usage
    module_plugin cscript.exe //B “%ProgramFiles%Pandora_Agentutildf_percent_used.vbs”

    Obviously, restart the service after each edit!
    Hope that helps?

    Hi there,

    Are you monitoring your Windows agentless by just WMI?  Also, after you modify this in your “agent.conf”, where is it visible? I meant where can you find this in the console?

    Kind regards,
    James Villas

    Good afternoon james.v,

    After you modify your pandora_agent.conf with the new modules, if you haave configured correctly the agent, this new modules should appear in the agent detail.

    Alberto

  • james-v

    Member
    November 28, 2018 at 17:13
    0 Karma points
    Community rank: tentacle-noob-1 Tentacle noob
    Like it
    Up
    0
    Down
    Drop it
    ::

    Hi,
    I’ve found it had to be a fairly manual process, so quickly abandoned the wizard.
    One thing you can do is insert into pandora_agent.conf (can’t remember how much is preconfigured)

    So – eg for CPU info……

    # CPU Load using WMI
    module_begin
    module_name CPU Load
    module_type generic_data
    module_wmiquery SELECT LoadPercentage FROM Win32_Processor
    module_wmicolumn LoadPercentage
    module_max 100
    module_min 0
    module_description User CPU Usage (%)
    module_min_warning 70
    module_max_warning 90
    module_min_critical 91
    module_max_critical 100
    module_unit %
    module_group System
    module_end

    I also monitor Nvidia GPUs for certain servers. It’s possible to just call other commands…eg temperature:

    module_begin
    module_name GPU 0 Temperature
    module_type generic_data
    module_exec “C:Program FilesNVIDIA CorporationNVSMInvidia-smi.exe” –id=0 –query-gpu=temperature.gpu –format=csv,noheader
    module_description Current On Board Temperature of GPU 1 in Centigrade (internal to server)
    module_group NvidiaGPU
    module_end

    Pandora also ships with utilities for monitoring things like Drive usage.
    It’s fairly straight forward to customise – eg, I took their initial code and modified it to look at the internal RAID set, then created the Pandora Module inside the config file…

    # Example plugin to retrieve drive usage
    module_plugin cscript.exe //B “%ProgramFiles%Pandora_Agentutildf_percent_used.vbs”

    Obviously, restart the service after each edit!
    Hope that helps?

    Hi there,

    Are you monitoring your Windows agentless by just WMI?  Also, after you modify this in your “agent.conf”, where is it visible? I meant where can you find this in the console?

    Kind regards,
    James Villas

    Good afternoon james.v,

    After you modify your pandora_agent.conf with the new modules, if you haave configured correctly the agent, this new modules should appear in the agent detail.

    Alberto

    Hi  there,

    Another question I have. So I modified the agent for my pandora fms server. After I modify it I restart the server yet nothing has appeared and the module I added in the agent disappear.

    Does it happen to you as well when you added the module?

    Please I need some help.

    Beforehand thank you,

    James V.

  • Like it
    Up
    0
    Down
    Drop it
    ::

    Unknown Member

    Moderator
    November 29, 2018 at 16:16

    Hi,
    I’ve found it had to be a fairly manual process, so quickly abandoned the wizard.
    One thing you can do is insert into pandora_agent.conf (can’t remember how much is preconfigured)

    So – eg for CPU info……

    # CPU Load using WMI
    module_begin
    module_name CPU Load
    module_type generic_data
    module_wmiquery SELECT LoadPercentage FROM Win32_Processor
    module_wmicolumn LoadPercentage
    module_max 100
    module_min 0
    module_description User CPU Usage (%)
    module_min_warning 70
    module_max_warning 90
    module_min_critical 91
    module_max_critical 100
    module_unit %
    module_group System
    module_end

    I also monitor Nvidia GPUs for certain servers. It’s possible to just call other commands…eg temperature:

    module_begin
    module_name GPU 0 Temperature
    module_type generic_data
    module_exec “C:Program FilesNVIDIA CorporationNVSMInvidia-smi.exe” –id=0 –query-gpu=temperature.gpu –format=csv,noheader
    module_description Current On Board Temperature of GPU 1 in Centigrade (internal to server)
    module_group NvidiaGPU
    module_end

    Pandora also ships with utilities for monitoring things like Drive usage.
    It’s fairly straight forward to customise – eg, I took their initial code and modified it to look at the internal RAID set, then created the Pandora Module inside the config file…

    # Example plugin to retrieve drive usage
    module_plugin cscript.exe //B “%ProgramFiles%Pandora_Agentutildf_percent_used.vbs”

    Obviously, restart the service after each edit!
    Hope that helps?

    Hi there,

    Are you monitoring your Windows agentless by just WMI?  Also, after you modify this in your “agent.conf”, where is it visible? I meant where can you find this in the console?

    Kind regards,
    James Villas

    Good afternoon james.v,

    After you modify your pandora_agent.conf with the new modules, if you haave configured correctly the agent, this new modules should appear in the agent detail.

    Alberto

    Hi  there,

    Another question I have. So I modified the agent for my pandora fms server. After I modify it I restart the server yet nothing has appeared and the module I added in the agent disappear.

    Does it happen to you as well when you added the module?

    Please I need some help.

    Beforehand thank you,

    James V.

    Good morning james.v,

    When you modify an agent, you need to restart the agent and the server, not only the server.

    try to restart both and let me know what happens.

    Alberto

  • james-v

    Member
    December 6, 2018 at 14:54
    0 Karma points
    Community rank: tentacle-noob-1 Tentacle noob
    Like it
    Up
    0
    Down
    Drop it
    ::

    Hi,
    I’ve found it had to be a fairly manual process, so quickly abandoned the wizard.
    One thing you can do is insert into pandora_agent.conf (can’t remember how much is preconfigured)

    So – eg for CPU info……

    # CPU Load using WMI
    module_begin
    module_name CPU Load
    module_type generic_data
    module_wmiquery SELECT LoadPercentage FROM Win32_Processor
    module_wmicolumn LoadPercentage
    module_max 100
    module_min 0
    module_description User CPU Usage (%)
    module_min_warning 70
    module_max_warning 90
    module_min_critical 91
    module_max_critical 100
    module_unit %
    module_group System
    module_end

    I also monitor Nvidia GPUs for certain servers. It’s possible to just call other commands…eg temperature:

    module_begin
    module_name GPU 0 Temperature
    module_type generic_data
    module_exec “C:Program FilesNVIDIA CorporationNVSMInvidia-smi.exe” –id=0 –query-gpu=temperature.gpu –format=csv,noheader
    module_description Current On Board Temperature of GPU 1 in Centigrade (internal to server)
    module_group NvidiaGPU
    module_end

    Pandora also ships with utilities for monitoring things like Drive usage.
    It’s fairly straight forward to customise – eg, I took their initial code and modified it to look at the internal RAID set, then created the Pandora Module inside the config file…

    # Example plugin to retrieve drive usage
    module_plugin cscript.exe //B “%ProgramFiles%Pandora_Agentutildf_percent_used.vbs”

    Obviously, restart the service after each edit!
    Hope that helps?

    Hi there,

    Are you monitoring your Windows agentless by just WMI?  Also, after you modify this in your “agent.conf”, where is it visible? I meant where can you find this in the console?

    Kind regards,
    James Villas

    Good afternoon james.v,

    After you modify your pandora_agent.conf with the new modules, if you haave configured correctly the agent, this new modules should appear in the agent detail.

    Alberto

    Hi  there,

    Another question I have. So I modified the agent for my pandora fms server. After I modify it I restart the server yet nothing has appeared and the module I added in the agent disappear.

    Does it happen to you as well when you added the module?

    Please I need some help.

    Beforehand thank you,

    James V.

    Good morning james.v,

    When you modify an agent, you need to restart the agent and the server, not only the server.

    try to restart both and let me know what happens.

    Alberto

    Good morning Alberto,

    I’ve modify the agent (pandora_agent.conf) and restarted both agent and server yet nothing has happened.

    I’m doing this on Debian 8 btw.

    Can you show me an example if it’s possible for I am a newbie in to this matter. If you can send me an email or PM that would be great. 

    Beforehand thank you,

    James,

  • Like it
    Up
    0
    Down
    Drop it
    ::

    Unknown Member

    Moderator
    December 7, 2018 at 15:02

    Hi there,

    Are you monitoring your Windows agentless by just WMI?  Also, after you modify this in your “agent.conf”, where is it visible? I meant where can you find this in the console?

    Kind regards,
    James Villas

    Good afternoon james.v,

    After you modify your pandora_agent.conf with the new modules, if you haave configured correctly the agent, this new modules should appear in the agent detail.

    Alberto

    Hi  there,

    Another question I have. So I modified the agent for my pandora fms server. After I modify it I restart the server yet nothing has appeared and the module I added in the agent disappear.

    Does it happen to you as well when you added the module?

    Please I need some help.

    Beforehand thank you,

    James V.

    Good morning james.v,

    When you modify an agent, you need to restart the agent and the server, not only the server.

    try to restart both and let me know what happens.

    Alberto

    Good morning Alberto,

    I’ve modify the agent (pandora_agent.conf) and restarted both agent and server yet nothing has happened.

    I’m doing this on Debian 8 btw.

    Can you show me an example if it’s possible for I am a newbie in to this matter. If you can send me an email or PM that would be great. 

    Beforehand thank you,

    James,

    Good morning james.v,

    Where did you create the module? Was it in Pandora FMS or in pandora_agent.conf?
    I understand your problem is that the module doesn’t save, not that doesn’t start.

    The example to create module in the Wiki page:

    https://wiki.pandorafms.com/index.php?title=Pandora:Agent_and_remote_module_creation

    Alberto

  • james-v

    Member
    December 11, 2018 at 17:27
    0 Karma points
    Community rank: tentacle-noob-1 Tentacle noob
    Like it
    Up
    0
    Down
    Drop it
    ::

    Good afternoon james.v,

    After you modify your pandora_agent.conf with the new modules, if you haave configured correctly the agent, this new modules should appear in the agent detail.

    Alberto

    Hi  there,

    Another question I have. So I modified the agent for my pandora fms server. After I modify it I restart the server yet nothing has appeared and the module I added in the agent disappear.

    Does it happen to you as well when you added the module?

    Please I need some help.

    Beforehand thank you,

    James V.

    Good morning james.v,

    When you modify an agent, you need to restart the agent and the server, not only the server.

    try to restart both and let me know what happens.

    Alberto

    Good morning Alberto,

    I’ve modify the agent (pandora_agent.conf) and restarted both agent and server yet nothing has happened.

    I’m doing this on Debian 8 btw.

    Can you show me an example if it’s possible for I am a newbie in to this matter. If you can send me an email or PM that would be great. 

    Beforehand thank you,

    James,

    Good morning james.v,

    Where did you create the module? Was it in Pandora FMS or in pandora_agent.conf?
    I understand your problem is that the module doesn’t save, not that doesn’t start.

    The example to create module in the Wiki page:

    https://wiki.pandorafms.com/index.php?title=Pandora:Agent_and_remote_module_creation

    Alberto

    Good afternoon Alberto,

    I have created the module in pandora_agent.conf

    It doesn’t save and doesn’t start.

    I’ve read the linked before and followed the instruction.

    James V.

  • Like it
    Up
    0
    Down
    Drop it
    ::

    Unknown Member

    Moderator
    December 12, 2018 at 12:54

    Hi  there,

    Another question I have. So I modified the agent for my pandora fms server. After I modify it I restart the server yet nothing has appeared and the module I added in the agent disappear.

    Does it happen to you as well when you added the module?

    Please I need some help.

    Beforehand thank you,

    James V.

    Good morning james.v,

    When you modify an agent, you need to restart the agent and the server, not only the server.

    try to restart both and let me know what happens.

    Alberto

    Good morning Alberto,

    I’ve modify the agent (pandora_agent.conf) and restarted both agent and server yet nothing has happened.

    I’m doing this on Debian 8 btw.

    Can you show me an example if it’s possible for I am a newbie in to this matter. If you can send me an email or PM that would be great. 

    Beforehand thank you,

    James,

    Good morning james.v,

    Where did you create the module? Was it in Pandora FMS or in pandora_agent.conf?
    I understand your problem is that the module doesn’t save, not that doesn’t start.

    The example to create module in the Wiki page:

    https://wiki.pandorafms.com/index.php?title=Pandora:Agent_and_remote_module_creation

    Alberto

    Good afternoon Alberto,

    I have created the module in pandora_agent.conf

    It doesn’t save and doesn’t start.

    I’ve read the linked before and followed the instruction.

    James V.

    Goog morning james.v,

    You can have two possible problems here.

    1- You can not connect your server via tentacle. Please try to send manually a file by tentacle and see if it arrives in the server. Does your server even create the new software agent?

    2- You have not activated the WMI in the machine you are trying to monitor. This modules are only for Windows machines and must be enabled in the machine to be used.

    Alberto