Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Install script dropped existing database
#1
I tried new Pandora console (1.3 beta 1),
when trying it for the first time, it runs the "install.php" script.
So, I entered the values it asked, and clicked on "next".
It presented a page which was telling that the database had been created, but it already existed, and when I tried to access it (through the old 1.2 console and mysql client), it just presented a new empty pandora database.

So the database got dropped, and a new one created with new access rights, new password, but same name.

I've got backups of my pandora database, so I didn't loose data, but in the case of someone not having backups: all the agents would have been erased, all the data, all the alerts, all the reports... anything.

It would be great to put some warning somewhere, and maybe be able to choose from an "installation" and "migration" tool as the databases from 1.2 and 1.3b1 are different and some new tables must be created.

bye
 Reply
#2
Hi dagget,

Well, pandora does warn you about the possibility of the database being deleted if it exists, it says:
NOTICE that database will be destroyed if it already exists!

But I agree, it should be bigger or in other color like red or similar.
This has been already reported:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.php...tid=794852

We are gonna do a wizard to migrate from 1.2 to 1.3.
 Reply
#3
Quote:I tried new Pandora console (1.3 beta 1),
when trying it for the first time, it runs the "install.php" script.
So, I entered the values it asked, and clicked on "next".
It presented a page which was telling that the database had been created, but it already existed, and when I tried to access it (through the old 1.2 console and mysql client), it just presented a new empty pandora database.

So the database got dropped, and a new one created with new access rights, new password, but same name.

I've got backups of my pandora database, so I didn't loose data, but in the case of someone not having backups: all the agents would have been erased, all the data, all the alerts, all the reports... anything.

It would be great to put some warning somewhere, and maybe be able to choose from an "installation" and "migration" tool as the databases from 1.2 and 1.3b1 are different and some new tables must be created.

bye

There was a little "warning" that currently says:

NOTICE that database will be destroyed if it already exists!

I've replaced for a BIGGER one, and it is shown at step #1, and step#3, thanks for your comments :-)

About the migration web wizard... I'm working on it, don't worry, will be a graphical one :-)
 Reply
#4
Ok, thanks! Wink
well it seems that I didn't read the full page!
sorry about that, so, yes it will be better with big red letters!

I know it's a beta version, so I did some backups before doing that, so no worries!

thanks for developping the migration interface!

bye!
 Reply


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)


(c) 2006-2018 Artica Soluciones Tecnol├│gicas. Contents of this wiki are under Create Common Attribution v3 licence. | pandorafms.com | pandorafms.org

Theme © MyBB Themes